Here Comes Jermaine

These rappers are disrespectful. I have not had two minutes to breathe and recover from Awaken, My Love! by Childish Gambino and J. Cole decides now is the perfect time to drop two new videos from his upcoming album 4 Your Eyez Only.


Actually, we deserved to end this insane year on a good note. Bless these men for anointing us with their grace and voices and bars galore.

“Are you ready? No? Aight here I come anyways!”

Cole’s new album is set to officially release Dec. 9, exactly two years after the insanely genius 2014 Forest Hills Drive, another extremely influential album in my life and the lives of so many. The album artwork features Cole in an Atlanta neighborhood in September 2016. The young child pictured had no idea who Cole was, but was in awe of his presence. I can relate, my friend!


On December 2nd, Cole released a documentary titled Eyez on Tidal. The project features Cole and other artists working on the album and the production behind it. I intend on watching in once I have taken at least 5-8 breaths to recover from the two new music videos alone.

“Everybody Dies”

“Everybody Dies”. Full video has been deleted from youtube.

Now realizing writing about music that leaves you speechless is a bit of a difficult task, but we will push through. This song, “Everybody Dies” and its video counterpart sets such a refreshing and exciting tone for what is to come. First of all these b a r s. He is dissin the fake youngins in the game left and right and I am living for it. #lilthis #lilthat

Genius lyrical disses keep coming:

  • “‘Cause Cole the definition of a weapon that can end it”
  • “‘Cause I ain’t into sorta kinda, dissin’ –, I’m borderline addicted to slaughter”
  • “If they weren’t talking ’bout the bread these — be toast” (this one kills me i love it so much)
  • “Especially the amateur eight week rappers, Lil’ whatever—just another short bus rapper” (HA HA H A)

“False Prophets (Be Like This)”

Full video has also been wiped from the internet due to copyright. So I would cop Tidal asap.

Cole does not disappoint in this track either, let me tell you. The upbeat vibe and rhythmic flow make it impossible to do anything but completely zone in on Cole’s words. In addition to the song alone, the cinematography for this video is casual but enticing, expressing Cole’s true nature and simple manner along with an always powerful message. Someone needs to teach me how to color correct footage like this asap. Similar to the previous track, Cole exposes the fakes in the game, but this time it’s the clearly states “False Prophets”.

Genius lyrical disses don’t stop:

  • “He’s fallin’ apart, but we deny it, Justifying that — he dropped, we always buy it”
  • “When he tell us he a genius but it’s clearer lately, It’s been hard for him to look into the mirror lately”
  • “And playin’ his old –, knowin’ he won’t top it, false prophets”
  • “I finally understand that they ain’t even sure ‘Bout who they are and why they do this”

Onto the documentary, wish me luck pls

UPDATE: Apparently neither song will appear on the final album. Guess there’s only one way to find out !

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s